top of page

Advice for picking up and crossing the pond.




I’ve had a few people reach out to me regarding moving from Canada to the UK as an actor, and tell me that they’re thinking about it. Thinking and doing couldn’t be more different of course, it’s one thing to consider a thing (I overthink for ages before taking action) and actually buying a plane ticket, packing up your life and moving across the globe isn’t something anyone can really prep you for. Having done the thing though, I have a few thoughts.


My main advice for anyone thinking of pursuing an acting career ANYWHERE they haven’t trained/built a community is to expect and prepare to spend 3–5 years building your community to a solid place. If you’re a bit on an introvert, like myself, who grew up, trained and worked mostly in the same place, it will take a moment to get back to where you were in your hometown. And a shit ton of effort.





When I moved, I cut my hair, dyed it red, and decided I was going to allow myself to be my fullest self when I arrived in the UK, and I really went for it in my MA. I gave everything my 100% and though there were dark times in the lockdown, we bounced back and I’m proud of the leadership role I took on when I was in the program and my progression as an actor.


But post program, I felt like I was 23 again, graduating from my diploma and going into a post–school low. Except now I was 29, responsible for my own shit, wondering where to live, what the best way forward was and was agent-less for about a year before finding someone I really connected with.


The same issues that I struggled with back home came back after the school year: how do I work and pursue this career without being impoverished but also while having flexibility? What are my goals? Am I too shy? I should get out more… so many shoulds. I really hate shoulds.





There have been amazing moments in the last 2 years I’ve been in England and out of my MA. I did a show in an off West End theatre (sure it was one night, but holy crap it was a win!) I have started learning the accordion, I have finally found a place to live in London that doesn’t break the bank and is vermin free (you should have seen my first place… dear GOD). I have even tried out a full–time job to see what that was like. Rewarding is the answer, and not for me. I’m an artist and in my experience, you can’t give 100% to both without a cost.



The truth is that my career since moving to the UK hasn’t taken the path I expected/wanted. I moved because I knew I would have a legitimate North American accent (I love you, my fellow British actors, but this is not your strength). The lesson learned is that the accent is a foot in many doors, yes, but in no way is it a golden ticket. My plan was to leave school, work consistently in theatre for five years and then consider going home, which takes me to now, about 2 years in and still cobbling it together.


This is not a moaning letter; I’ve got some exciting prospects on the horizon of my own making and I knew this wouldn't be easy. I have made a wonderful friend and co–creator who I collaborate with regularly. There’s a scratch night in September. My solo show is going up in October. There’s a Christmas gig already in the books. My community is growing through play readings and partnerships. Things are happening.


I just wanted to be really honest about what this journey has been like and traveling across the world has made me understand that my lack of confidence, my anxiety, and my intrusive thoughts didn’t magically disappear with school or a different country, that I was actually performing really regularly in Vancouver, and it was keeping me sharp, that having a meaningful like outside of my career is STILL something I struggle with daily, weekly, monthly… basically all the time.





So, in other words, if you want to challenge yourself, to reinvent yourself, to discover who you can be away from your family and past, I recommend picking up and traveling across the globe. But the ticket isn’t enough, don't be fooled. Your day-to-day life requires day–to–day diligence just the same as anywhere else. Wherever you go, there you are.


But maybe that’s the biggest lesson of all. And one worth learning.

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page